Rules and Regs - Split and Merge

Saturday, 30 March 2013 12:17:08 Europe/London

Hi, my name is Vicente de los Santos and welcome to my first article on the Heroclix rules. These articles are designed to help you better understand some of the new and complicated mechanics of the game and improve your game. I would also like to encourage a discussion of these mechanics and rules, so please feel free to ask any question you have in the comment section below.

For my first article I would like to take a look at a mechanic that was introduced in the Chaos War set. Split & Merge brings us the possibility to replace our heroes with Duo characters (And vice versa). This mechanic it´s not usual during games, so now we are going to make a fast review of this ability.


The Qualifying Table
All the Duo characters have a qualifying table with the name (The real and the heroic) of the figures that can Split & Merge. Previous sets have this table published in the Player's Guide, so we need only check it and use with our Duo characters. For the examples in this article, we are going to use Cloak & Dagger from Secret Invasion.

Tip: When you use Split, we have to choose different characters from the Qualifying Table. For example, you cannot replace the Duo Character of the example with two Daggers (45 points each).

Merging Heroes
All the figures have the Merge Ability (As an attack ability) and it cannot be countered. To use it, we only need a Duo character that qualifies with the characters.  Take a look on the picture. We have Cloak and Dagger fighting against Ares and Taskmaster. Both characters are allowed to be replaced by Cloak and Dagger Duo Character (from Secret Invasion), so we can Merge them.

How? We need that both characters are represented in the Qualifying Table, and they cannot have action tokens. Then we choose one of the figures to make a free action and merge. The replacement maintains the same number of clicks (from the starting line) as the character who make the free action.

And the most important thing. The value points of Cloak and Dagger must be equal or superior that the point value of the replacement. In the example, we are using #202-Cloak (85 points) and #003-Dagger (45 points). It´s a total of 130 points. The Duo Character's point value is 109 points, so there is no problem.


So now we use the Merge ability and we replace them with the Duo Character. Remember that the Duo Character enters in the same click number that the figure who uses Merge. In the example, Dagger has been attacked, but Cloak is in his first click. The smart move is to use Merge with Cloak, giving him the free action. Thus the Duo Character will come with the dial on the first click.

Split into the Battle!
The Duo characters have the Split ability. You can use it to replace it with one or more character(s) listed in his qualifying table. It works as Merge, the figure cannot have Action Tokens, but it´s not a free action. The character has to make a power action and the action tokens are assigned to the replacement characters. These ones can´t make actions this turn (Including free actions)


So check the example. We have again Ares and Taskmaster, fighting against Cloak and Dagger. This time we started the game with the Duo Character, and now we are surrounded. It´s time to Split and try another tactic, so we make a Power Action to bring the replacements inside the game. In this case, the point value of the incoming figures cannot be higher than the point value of the Duo, unless those replacements previously used Merge to be replaced by this character. Tip: A mind controlled character cannot use Split or Merge ability.

So, for the Split, we choose Cloak (55 points) and Dagger (45 points) from the regular set. Their point value is 100 points and the Duo Character is 109, so we can make the Split. The Duo was on the click 3, so the replacement enters in the same click too, and with an action token. If we use these figures as replacements, we can use them again to Merge. The point value of the Duo Character is 109, but these figures were previously used to Split into this Duo Character, so we can do it.



Tip: About the points, our opponent earn the point value of the character who started the game as victory points. If we started with Duo Character (109 points) but the replacements (100 points) were KO'ed, the points scored by our opponent are the value point of the Duo character.

That´s it. Hope you enjoy this fast review of the game mechanic. Feel free to post any question about Split & Merge. There´s a lot of things we can discuss about it.


Vicente started playing Heroclix in 2008, and his first figure was Magneto, House of M. Nowadays is a Heroclix Judge in Sevilla, Spain, and runs the website A Seises which includes many Heroclix articles in his native Spanish.

Tags:

Posted in Rules and Regs By

Vicente de los Santos

Post Comments

4 Item(s)

per page
Set Descending Direction

Samual Grieve

posted on Monday, 1 April 2013 15:09:45 Europe/London
Great article Vicente. Looking forward to more.

Vicente De los Santos

posted on Sunday, 31 March 2013 19:32:22 Europe/London
Hello James!
I´m going to answer your questions, separately for an easy read.

# Promotional Tokens#

Your question about promotional tokens is simple. These tokens are into the Character Card, therefore not affect the Merge. For example, we have a Thor (From Marvel 10th) with 2 promotional tokens. He can merge with Captain America and Iron Man to be replaced with Avenger Prime. These counters remain on the Thor's card, so if we do split later, Thor returns to the map and he continues with his promotional tokens.

#Resources#
For resources (or ATAs, for example), they still are applying if the replacements have the requirements. In the same example, if we play the Asgardian ATA to Thor, and then we use Merge (Replaced again with Avenger Prime), the replacement has the Asgardian Keyword, so Prime can use the ATA. If the character had assigned a resource (Gauntlet, for example), the replacement has the resource too. If we split, we can choose a new target for the resource.
So, we have Captain America, Iron man and Thor with the Gauntlet. We use Merge (Avenger Prime again). Later we split again, and then we can choose what character has the Gauntlet.

#Split into one character#
A good question. You can split into one character as the rules say. But if you want to use Merge, you need to do a free action to replace the character and other friendly ones (qualifying characters). So you need to have and adjacent friendly character to Merge. The wording of the Merge Rule says that you need another character, so I don´t think we can´t do it. Anyway, I´m reading the Player Guide and Errata for a right answer, so I'll update it when I find it.

#Tokens and Pilots#
The character outside the maps (like Pilots) clear the action tokens if they don´t do any non-free action during the turn. For example: We use a Gotham Police to make a ranged combat action, then as free action he becomes a pilot of the Police Car. In the next turn, the Pilot doesn´t do any non-free action, so he clears at the end of that turn.

James Houston

posted on Sunday, 31 March 2013 11:26:04 Europe/London
oh and i forgot to ask, can you split into just one character rather than two? and if so can you ever merge into the duo again?

James Houston

posted on Sunday, 31 March 2013 11:16:30 Europe/London
i like the idea of this mechanic but haven't really played it much, the main reason being i am still learning the rules and adding more complicated things to my games makes my head hurt :)

one question i have is what happens to tokens that characters might have such as promotion tokens from the 10th anniversary figures. i know you can't merge when you have action tokens but what happens to other tokens. the rules say that resources and such apply to the duo figure but what about things that may be specific to one figure. do they lose them or do they stay on the character card in case they split again?

i have a similar question related to what happens to action tokens on a character when they leave the map, for example when they become a pilot of a vehicle. do the tokens stay on the card and can a character clear the tokens when they are not present on the map?

4 Item(s)

per page
Set Descending Direction

You must be logged in to post a comment.

click here to log in